top of page

Blog

Fall Comfort Food You Don't Feel Guilty Eating!

I hate that the label "comfort food" usually means greasy, cheesy, and unhealthy. My comfort food would be defined as meaty and savory that give you a sense of warmth. Deer meat is the perfect protein to add to a casserole or shepherd's pie that won't add extra cholesterol. I have begun to eat meat now that fall has arrived. The summer vegetables are thinning out and I am waiting for my fall veggies to get big! I have committed to eating like a locavore. (only produce grown/gathered within 100 mi.) By only selecting meat that was caught in the Bay or Atlantic waters of the Shore or in the woods across from my house, I am more at peace with the quality of my food. I choose to only eat meat that has been directly caught or shot and cleaned by my husband or I. Therefore, every dish I make has an incredibly fresh and wild quality to it. There is nothing better than processing your own meat and then manipulating in a creative way that turns everyday cooking into an art form. One of my favorite fall dishes with deer burger is shepherd's pie with home grown potatoes, carrots, and peas. Purple potatoes are the best and the fresh peas are the way to go. If you don't have your own, try to find these veggies at the farmer's market. If you can't get them fresh, frozen would be second choice. Don't use canned veggies....most of the time they taste like aluminum and have added salts. This comfort food can be as layered as you want. I always add lots of garlic and onion when cooking the burger. Then fresh herbs to the top of the potatoes will help add another layer of flavor. Rosemary, basil, and thyme being my favorites, gives the whole dish a savory quality that will make you coming back for a second helping.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon

Sarah Brown Clark

bottom of page