top of page

Blog

Self-Esteem and Eating

I have a new favorite passage from the book I am reading, Main Street Vegan by Victoria Morgan. In her chapter "Know the Beings Behind Bacon and Burgers" she has a side note about self worth and self image. I had never thought about eating in this way and I think the way she explains this problem of unhealthy splurging makes total sense....at least for me. Thought I would share...

"I've long said that I can judge the state of my psycho/spiritual fitness by how willing I am to wash lettuce. I think this is all about self esteem. How much do we really, really believe that we're worth today? If I order Chinese from the not-so-hot place that doesnt even have brown rice, I obviusly feel thast I am worth less than when I fix myself a bright fresh beautiful meal. One antidote to this in-a-rut state is to take a single action that says you're worthy. Buy a juice-bar if there's no way you'll make juice yourself today. Go out wearing something ironed. Do a kind and helpful act on behalf of someone else, human or otherwise. The more convinced your are that you deserve a splendid life, the more likely you are to eat top-notch food. "


This passage really made me stop and think how true this is. I am worth only the finest food I can find! We should all feel like we deserve the best. I believe God created us in His image and wants us to be the healthiest happiest version of ourselves. Changing my eating and way of life to a more vegan based diet has helped me achieve this new state of mind.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon

Sarah Brown Clark

bottom of page